Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'd like to start off by saying hello to all I'm a brand spanking new member to the community, very excited to be here (obviously seeing as joining is optional). ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

New member seeking advice!

I'd like to start off by saying hello to all I'm a brand spanking new member to the community, very excited to be here (obviously seeing as joining is optional). I've been using linux for about 6 years or so and love it! I try to convert anyone and everyone given the opportunity. I am a bit of a hoarder as I eagerly take in others "old" computers with intentions of putting them to use for something in my home network

Today I come to you seeking advice, I've long used Ubuntu w/ Gnome it's my staple OS so to speak. I've tinkered with other distros like slacker, openSUSE, fedora etc... I just don't think I know anywhere enough yet and I'm hoping you will be able to enlighten me. Particularly I'm looking for the "ideal" OS and desktop environment to use on a PC I recently built for cheap. It is going to be a media server mostly but I will likely store more than that on it occasionally. So here are the specs of the machine. Let me know if you want anymore information.

Memory: 3 gigs SDRAM
    Processor: Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2200 at 2.20GHz x 2
    Graphics GeForce 7050/nforce 610i/integrated/SSE2
    Disk: 500GB

I look forward to reading your opinions and suggestions. Thank you in advance!

Hello and Welcome to LFO. We're certainly excited to have you here. You know something, your post describes about half the members here and the other half just won't admit it but we're all PC parts "Hoarders".

I'd say dive off the deep end and try Debian, Slackware and Gentoo (My ideal OS) . If you still feel you don't know enough after that then you probably should go to college or something.