Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All, I am a new member here so I thought it time to raise my head above the parapet and take the plunge. My name is Gary and I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Time to lift my head up!

Hi All,

I am a new member here so I thought it time to raise my head above the parapet and take the plunge.
    My name is Gary and I am semi-retired. I am a former Police Inspector having served 28 years before medical retirement 10 years ago (Crikey, is it that long?) I will be 60 next birthday.

My computing history started in the days of the ZX80/ZX81 and Sinclair Spectrum era and, because I could type, I plumped for a Dragon 32 with a full size qwerty keyboard and a Motorola 6809 CPU. My first game for it being Donkey Kong!
    In the following years I cut my computing teeth so to speak by upgrading the Dragon with a home built RS232 Interface (thanks Maplin), additional memory, re-programmed the EEPROM with an updated OS, built a HDD interface for the cartridge port and eventually bought my first 20Mb HDD for about 200!
    My force supported me in doing an HNC in computer studies and I used the Dragon and an enormous 300 baud BT modem to upload my assignments to the college computer.
    I then used my 'talents'?? to teach our Command & Control system, introduce people to the wonders of Microsoft Office whilst at the same time ditching my Dragon for an Atari ST. I remained a 'PC phobe' for many years until the Atari died a death and was no longer supported. PC's were the flavour at work so a home PC was inevitable.