Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey guys, what was the biggest goof you've ever made on a computer system (if you aren't too embarrassed to reveal it) ? Mine was years ago, when I attached ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    oz
    forum.guy

Just for fun, what was your biggest computer goof ever?

Hey guys, what was the biggest goof you've ever made on a computer system (if you aren't too embarrassed to reveal it) ?

Mine was years ago, when I attached a new hard disk to a system but did not properly install it. The hard drive was simply lying on the chassis of the computer case, and when I booted the system, it shorted out and fried the new hard disk.

An expensive lesson was learned that day.
    oz

When I was still a student, one of my first jobs was as a computer operator, I handled a mainframe with several companies data on it. The terminal consoles on that system were very slow to show what you have typed on them, so we just typed the commands and hit send and after a while it would show what we just typed.

Once during a very heavy inventory and sales process the system disk space was running low and the usual process was to delete some temp files with a command like del /company/tempfolder/* . So I typed the command and soon it showed del /company/* . Yep, all the company data was gone!. With cold sweats I got up from the terminal and went to tell my supervisor about it. Luckyly it was a standard procedure a weekend full backup plus incrementals and the begining and at the end of every shift. It took the whole night to reconstruct all the data and all the procesd were delayed one day. I still dont know how I didnt get fired .

Mine has not arrived yet. I purchased a 64gig sata zif cable ssd drive for my M&A companion Netbook which actually is advertised as taking a pata zif platter/ssd drive.