Find the answer to your Linux question:
Most of the time, I run fairly ordinary fonts such as dejavu sans for general applications, dejavu mono for text editors, and terminus or tamsyn for xterminals and virtual consoles. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    oz
    forum.guy

Your Favorite Fonts?

Most of the time, I run fairly ordinary fonts such as dejavu sans for general applications, dejavu mono for text editors, and terminus or tamsyn for xterminals and virtual consoles.

What fonts are the rest of you using on your Linux boxes these days?
    oz

serif mostly. Never got into fonts that much OZ.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

oz
    forum.guy
    Yeah, I don't experiment with many different fonts myself, but do keep an eye open in case something interesting should happen along. The main criteria for me is it that it must be easy to read, rather than pretty or fancy. I've been testing some fonts mostly for terminals and status bars recently and it always seems like those fonts that I find are a bit too big, or a bit too small. Conky, for instance, acts very differently at times depending on the font used.

In some cases, it seems like there is a huge leap in size when you go from size 12 to 14, and there is no size 13 available. Some of the ttf fonts out there have weird things about them too, such as certain parts of certain letters have a faded look more so than others, so I avoid those. The ms-core fonts that so many are fond of don't work well at all for me, so they never get installed.
    oz

Either at home or at work or down the pub
    The only real preference I have is the Liberation Mono font for coding and I do like Verdana on a web page as it is very clear and easy to read on a screen.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

When do we want 'em?