Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, So I'm looking for an editor...and I'm extremely anal about things like editors, and have a very exquisite list of 'features' that I like, and have yet to fit ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Help Me Find This Perfect Editor Unicorn?

Hey,

So I'm looking for an editor...and I'm extremely anal about things like editors, and have a very exquisite list of 'features' that I like, and have yet to fit the bill.

So I can use gedit for much of my general purpose editing, scripting, etc. By profession, I am a software developer. Now at work I develop in VS2012 and I despise every second of it. Though I'm not forced to use it, so offer me a good alternative!

Most of my development at work is C/C++ with dabbles of ASM on occasion. What I do at home is pretty much the same thing, maybe some Java mixed in, whatever.

But for large projects, I like more than an editor, I like an IDE...(and here's where the complications begin)

So by IDE I mean it has the following features:
    • Syntax highlighting (yes, can be found anywhere, simple)
    • Semantic checking (ie. it knows when something isn't grammatically correct)
    • Autocomplete
    • Function/member lists
    • Jump to definitions
    • Find usages of/references to
    • (brownie points for) scoped renaming of a symbol

Now QT Creator is my editor of choice. I infrequently develop in QT, but the editor is pretty epic. It supports all of the above. The problem I ran into, which is unfortunately a problem I've run into multiple times, is that it's SUPER specific to C++. That is, the semantic checking is built in only for C++ and cannot be modified. The syntax highlighting can be modified, but it kind of ends there.

Lately I've been working with CUDA, which is an extension upon C. This caused problems right off the bat, even after I added it to the syntax XML, because:
    Code:
    __constant__ void ***memory