Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi I'm new here, joined yesterday,I'm also very new to linux, in fact it's all still a bit of a mystery. I'm in the UK - Herefordshire on the English/ ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hi I'm New and a Linux- newbie

Hi

I'm new here, joined yesterday,I'm also very new to linux, in fact it's all still a bit of a mystery.
    I'm in the UK - Herefordshire on the English/ Welsh borders.

I have of course been attracted by Linux disros in the past and tried them out a couple of times but then encouterd difficulties that sent me running back to Microsoft .

I do some tech support for a charity and yesterdy I installed browser linux on one of their machines ( actually a new Pc that came without an OS ) .

All went well - and I established and network and internet connection , but although the settings seemed to be properly saved , on restart it wouldn't connect and the connection had to be re-established.

This prompted my registering with linuxforums , and I did blunder about a bit trying to get some support - before even introducing myself, I realize this was quite rude and I probably posted my appeal for help to the wrong forum.

Anyway , I'll try to persevere a bit more and try to get to grips with Linux.
    I'm sure there are good tutorials on line - any recommendations would be appreciated.

Bye for now

tetatate2

My understanding is that Browser Linux is a very small operating system intended for web surfing only. It could well be that it doesn't store the network config by design - or it could be that the version you put on is a 'Live CD' version intended to run from CD or DVD disk, so couldn't store its settings because of that.