Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm thinking of creating a new Linux distro and am wondering if anybody else is interested. I'm new to Linux Forums but this looks like the right place to ask. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Lightbulb Creating a new linux distro

I'm thinking of creating a new Linux distro and am wondering if anybody else is interested. I'm new to Linux Forums but this looks like the right place to ask.

The new distro will try to work well across a range of devices including desktop PCs, laptops and servers as well, perhaps, as smartphones, tablets and touch screen PCs.

I'm considering a 'bundle' based package management system a la Mac OS X

Any other suggestions or questions are welcome.

Just Joined!
    Great Barrier Reef -QLD-Australia on a boat
    Just wondering why you might choose to do this ?
    Are none of the available ones suitable for some reason?

Just Joined!
    Mainly for fun

However there are a few other reasons for a new distro. At the moment most distros use a dependency based package management system which can make upgrading packages perilous as software is all just lumped into the system. I think that a much more elegant system would be to use app bundles like OS X so that all the user has to do to install software is to drag and drop the bundle into an applications directory.

Also I am unhappy with current desktop environments. KDE is too memory intensive; I don't like the Unity dash and LXDE and XFCE lack the eye-candy I expect from a modern OS. The reason I don't propose a new DE is because I think that a good DE should be integrated with the OS as Unity is with Ubuntu.

I hope this answers your question

Quote Originally Posted by Tefuzzyllama View Post
    Mainly for fun