Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello All, I heard about Linux and how it is becoming easier for normal people like me (without very much knowledge of how to do things on computers) to use, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to Linux

Hello All,

I heard about Linux and how it is becoming easier for normal people like me (without very much knowledge of how to do things on computers) to use, so I figured I'd try it. So I'm running OpenSuse12.3 64 bit with Gnome (dual booted with Windows 7 if that matters). I suppose I'm not *technically* new to Linux. I hope this will be a pleasant experience and that LinuxForums can help me when I run into troubles. Thanks in advance for the assistance.

Howdy and Welcome.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!
    Welcome.

While one might think of a lot computer knowledge is an asset, you might be surprised how much a hindrance it can be to attempt to apply knowledge of one OS to another. Therefore, you're feeling that you lack knowledge may turn out to be an advantage. You have general knowledge, like the concepts of files and folders, opening programs, etc. that can be applied to any OS. Then will be knowledge that will not be useful. For example: Trying to apply the concept of drive letters to Linux will go nowhere, except frustration. Linux doesn't use any 'limited to X number of {fill in the blank}', things like 26 drive letters. Linux uses 1 file system starting at the '/' (root). Additional drives, devices, network shares, and whatever else, are mounted onto sub-directories, with virtually no limit on how big the entire file system gets, or how many devices it takes to get there.