Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes
Hi Everyone, I won't go into great detail but I am quite ill and not able to work at the moment. It's extremely difficult as I have always either been ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How Did You Learn?

Hi Everyone,

I won't go into great detail but I am quite ill and not able to work at the moment. It's extremely difficult as I have always either been in education or work. While I have free time I think it's best I try to learn something useful and I'd like to try and work out how to use Linux/Unix properly. As this would be a great boon for me personally but also for work.

I've been using several distros for about six months and I feel I'm no longer really learning anything. I've simply just started to copy commands that others have posted on the internet. So what's the best way for me to learn how to operate within Linux without resorting to copy + paste?

If I had to set a goal it would be to be able to successfully configure an ArchLinux installation. However I've tried an "ArchBang" install and it didn't go well. I can partition the HDDs fine but that's about as far as I can get. Once I reach the desktop I can't install anything even when I copy commands from the internet.

As you can see I'm still at the "newbie" stage and a long way from my Arch install goal but I really want to learn. I've thought about taking a course but I would like to build up my basic understanding of Linux/Unix before I commit money to anything.

Any advice you could give me would be greatly appreciated. I apologize for the long post and thank you for reading.

Bleu

Some good stuff in my signature. Me. I learned like I did on motorcycles. I got on. Fell off. Got on. Fell off. Got on. Then drove it like I stole it.