Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
... and rubbish at introductions! I'm 22, live in Norway and I make furniture for a living. I've been toying with the idea of switching over to Linux for a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Talking Hi, I'm new...

... and rubbish at introductions!

I'm 22, live in Norway and I make furniture for a living.

I've been toying with the idea of switching over to Linux for a couple of years now, but being a forever OS optimist, I kept hoping Windows would get better. Turns out it didn't, so here I am!

I am almost a complete n00b with Linux, except for a dodgy encounter with Mint a few years back, so expect me to ask a lot of questions you've probably answered a hundred times before, and just act n00bish in general.

Linux Engineer
    Welcome. I recommend Linux Mint for beginners. I prefer Linux Mint Debian Edition, as it's a rolling release, no need to reinstall or upgrade (error prone process) in the future.

I prefer Linux Mint Debian Edition
    Just another easy to learn one also and Howdy and Welcome. Don't forget to md5sum check downloaded Linux isos before using on a usb or burning a image disk.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Hello and Welcome!
    We all started out with a lot of questions, so don't be shy about asking yours.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Welcome to the board and ask away.

Getting up to speed with Linux is a lot easier than it used to be, you'll be happy you did in the long run.

Thank you all!