Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello folks, I'm fairly new with this whole Linux thing, I've played with a few distros mostly in the last month trying to figure things out before the end of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hello, fairly new linux user, trying to convert and combine from WinXP

Hello folks, I'm fairly new with this whole Linux thing, I've played with a few distros mostly in the last month trying to figure things out before the end of security support for Win XP.

I've so far tried Ubuntu, Kubuntu, and Linux Mint. I might have messed up with Mint. I did like the KDE Desktop though. Although I've had some issues with the hardware that I'm using, maybe too old, maybe has something broke in it, dunno. This PC is something ancient in terms of most; an '04 with an amd athlon 64 x2, an AGP Radeon 2400, and about 2 gigs ram. I've used and abused it and she's heading the way of the dodo.

I'll probably be building a new machine here in the next month. But I also have one other machine I'm working on too.

I have an LE1700 Tablet PC that I've maxed out the RAM on, This beauty has been my drawing machine for the greater part of the last 2 years. I'm very happy with my experience on it... except the battery life but I don't care about that XD

I've got things set up so far to install a new hard drive in her to give her a play of Linux while I keep the original safe after backing it up. If I play with that drive again I'll disable wifi to preserve the system.

I'm wondering what special things I'll have to have when I develop this new system. I'm gonna document EVERY-a-THANG that I do with it.

I'm also wanting to build a new PC this April-May to be the foundation of a great machine that will last for a good while and still be great for gaming and upgrading.