Find the answer to your Linux question:
Alright, Hello everyone first of all. I am a undergraduate majoring in IT science at Wayne State university in southeast michigan, however, I am starting to want to change my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Requirements for a Linux Administrator?

Alright, Hello everyone first of all. I am a undergraduate majoring in IT science at Wayne State university in southeast michigan, however, I am starting to want to change my degree.

I have been taking the introduction to linux class at my community college which transfers and I love it so much. Its a great OS that has a lot of potential. I am starting to get interested in majoring in a Linux Administrator or something similar. However, the school only provides the basic terminal and command line classes.

And after doing some research online, I have found out people arent even really certified in linux. What I want to know is, will someone tell me what it takes to get a decent job in the IT field for Linux? I am interested in hearing your opinions and other stuff.

Thanks, and as always, have a nice day.
    -Envy

Linux Engineer
    The best part about Linux is that it's not really taught in most colleges or universities. This keeps the labor pool relatively low, which keeps salaries high.

The best thing you can do if you want to have a career in Linux is to use it every day. Use it as your primary operating system on your personal computer. Simple tasks like installing new software, compiling source code, reading log files, and starting and stopping services (all via the command line) are great skills to have. I also recommend installing CentOS in a VM or on bare metal and get Wordpress (free CMS software) up and running on it.