Find the answer to your Linux question:
well what can I say i have been using windows for about 10 years now. Pretty proficient in it and the need have having to write a bash script to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hello fellow Linux users!!

well what can I say i have been using windows for about 10 years now. Pretty proficient in it and the need have having to write a bash script to help me with some work stuff has lead me here. I look forward to learning this awesome Os and just maybe being able to call myself a true linux user one day.

I got me a copy of Ubuntu since its the one of heard of the most. I have been reading for a while and have been getting familiar with the basics.

well let the fun begin!

Ubuntu 14.04 with the Unity desktop is a good place to start but Unity will get boring after a bit so chances are you'll do like many of us and Distro Hop a bit before you find your Sweet Spot. I started with Linux a year and a half ago with Ubuntu 12.04 and the Unity DE. Got tired of it and went to Linux Mint MATE which was better IMHO but still not exactly where I wanted to be. Moved to Point Linux 2.2(now it's 2.3) which is Debian Stable with MATE DE and played with Ubuntu GNOME, Xubuntu(Xfce DE) and a few others before I landed on Manjaro Xfce because I'd always wanted to go Arch but didn't have the skill set to do an Arch install so Manjaro got me close. After using it for a couple months I moved to Antergos GNOME and that's where I'm at now and it works pretty well for me.
    GNOME, Xfce and MATE are my top picks for a desktop and Debian or Arch are my Linux versions of choice. I fell that pacman is a bit easier to use and has a little more power then apt-get but your mileage may vary so play with both and make up your mind as to which fits you best.
    Anyway, welcome to the forums, hope you can move to Linux full time, I'm sure you won't regret it in the least.