Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question How to become a linux network and system administrator ? London

Hello,

Currently i work in the construction industry as a fire alarm installer (among other things), about a week ago got one of those email ads for jobs and one was for a junior system administrator, out of curiosity had a look at the requirements and put in bold what i have, granted i used ubuntu in the 7.03-7.10 days.

A classmate got me interested in linux by telling me i could open/close the cd-rom from his computer from mine after that web hosting server, mail server, ftp server, irc bots, vmware etc. , can't remember everything since that was almost half a life ago

Now i'm interested in pursuing this path, had a look online at jobs, what they were looking for etc. Then looked for courses/training (can't really self teach need someone) found that most ask for 2000+ or 3000+ and a year or so free, i have neither, the ''best'' i found is this one from City U of London which isn't that expensive (480) and 2 hours per week for 10 weeks with ''homework'' in between classes.

Is this course good ? will i be able to get a junior job after finishing this course ? any other ways, better ways ? anyone want to tutor me ? will pay

My CSCS card (allows me to enter construction sites) expires in September and would like to not have to renew it.

Why the career change ?! besides the obvious, born in Romania, after finishing highschool moved to Italy to work, about seven years later the economy went to **** and lost my job, 6 months later moved to London and things aren't looking good and i'm tired of moving countries.

Restored my old laptop with some more ram a 480gb ssd double the battery and a new (uk) keyboard, just finished installing ubuntu.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and i hope i've explained properly.

PS: really hope i posted in the right place