Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
When you use firefox in windows the first time you have to put your ip and port in there. How do you find your internal ip in windows? i would ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102

    ip address


    When you use firefox in windows the first time you have to put your ip and port in there.
    How do you find your internal ip in windows?


    i would really appreciate your help.
    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    I'm not sure exactly what you mean, but, you can see your ip from windows with the command ipconfig

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Serbia&Montenegro
    Posts
    281
    I'm not sure but I think it's:

    Code:
     ipconfig
    from the command line.
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    I'm not sure exactly what you mean
    When you use firefox in windows, the first time you have to set the ip and the port in the options window.
    thats why i was asking how to find the ip

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Just curious, why would you have to put the ip address and port in there? I have set up Firefox on several machines, and i never had to put the ip address and port in the options menu. But all of these machines used dhcp.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #6
    tfk
    tfk is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    de
    Posts
    103
    When you use firefox in windows, the first time you have to set the ip and the port in the options window.
    The only fields for IP addresses in the connection settings are for the proxy server. Unless you are using a proxy server for internet access, you have to leave these fields blank and choose "direct connection to the internet" instead.

    Your own IP address in the internet is changing every time you perform a dialup, if you don't have a static IP address. It usually is the first host in the list you get when running the tracert program.

    -- Felix
    it\'s !Linux; it\'s GNU/Linux!
    [XBill] [GNU] [Viewable with Any Browser] [Drop me a mail]

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    i got the portable version of firefox for my usb stick and i want to use it at my school. I like firefox because it has many features that the schools ie does not have like popup blocker and such. When i try to use firefox in school it does not work.i dont know how i can find my ip and the port.

    please help

  8. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Open up a DOS box in XP and type "ipconfig /all"
    That should give you the info you need,
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    i have tried every one of the ip numbers it gives me and none of them seem to work.
    Can you be more specific and tell me which one should i try from the list?

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    i am a good kid
    i dont want to do anything that will get me in trouble.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •