Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: Which do you connect to the internet through?

Voters
92. You may not vote on this poll
  • Cable

    36 39.13%
  • DSL

    45 48.91%
  • Dial up

    9 9.78%
  • Other

    2 2.17%
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 63
but it does have to be a digital phone line, some places never upgraded from analog and dsl can't be offered....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366

    but it does have to be a digital phone line, some places never upgraded from analog and dsl can't be offered.
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    /Home/Penguin
    Posts
    22
    I have cable from Comcast. I had no service twice for half a day each in the last couple of days. But that dosn't happen much. Sometimes when it goes down I can fix it by powering off/on my router

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22
    Cable. Good ol comcast just upped the speed to 4mb.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    For Cable I have COX

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4
    Hey adrenaline how much ya pay for that service? That is awfully fast internet.

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Getting close to 5MB with RoadRunner. Just wish they'd increase the upload speed as well.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  8. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    cable, on both my laptop and desktop
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

  9. #18
    jwf
    jwf is offline
    Linux Newbie jwf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    187
    Dial-up. I live so far into the woods, I have to come out to hunt.
    Actually I just switched to Linux and dial-up is the only option I have right now. On my XP machine I have DirecPC. This is a dial up transmit and Satellite reveive. 19.2Kbps up and 425Kbps download. This setup is the same a the Hughes Network in the US. Unfortunately the service provider up here in Canada is ExpressVu and they are discontinuing this internet service by the end of June. I'll be looking at satellite transfer both ways from TELESAT. Come July, I'll have a DirecPC digital modem (USB) for sale.

  10. #19
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    I just switched from comcast to rcn because comcast caps their upload speed at 30kbps while rcn I've gotten 100kbps plus when using bittorent. Sweet!
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  11. #20
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Speed School of Engineering
    Posts
    267
    DSL, but only because cable (at least here) would give me a dynamic IP, plus you're technically *not* supposed to run servers on it

    EDIT: There's something horribly wrong with my DSL, though...
    I'm getting download speeds of about 15.5K, and I'm only downloading one thing

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •