Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
hi chaps, I am anindya from pakur, Jharkhand, India. I used three different distros so far. Only problem I have is log into the net. I posted my my probs ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    0

    wannabe my friend


    hi chaps,
    I am anindya from pakur, Jharkhand, India. I used three different distros so far. Only problem I have is log into the net. I posted my my probs but no reply.
    I like red hat 9.
    If anyone help me connect internet I may porve to be a good friend to this forum.
    Thanking u all... listening me.
    Bye[/b]

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    welcome to the forums

    im still new to linux, but ill try and help with your internet
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Jackson, Ms
    Posts
    21
    what kind of problem are you having. Please be more in detailed so that we can help.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    38
    Yes, please include more information in your questions. What kind of internet connection do you have (dialup, cable, dsl, etc.)? What kind of modem do you have? (internal/external, brand, model)?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790

    Re: wannabe my friend

    Quote Originally Posted by anindyapkr
    I like red hat 9.
    Why not upgrade to Fedora Core 3 or 4? Red Hat 9 is now not supported by Red Hat, not since they split their product into Fedora and RH Enterprise.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Sdousley, maybe he does'nt have a CD-burner? I don't neither, and nobody's selling distros over here, so I have to borrow my dads comp everytime I'm burning something

    (I'm gonna buy one as soon as possible... Anybody know about some which works fine with linux by the way?)

  7. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    (I'm gonna buy one as soon as possible... Anybody know about some which works fine with linux by the way?)
    I have yet to find a CD or DVD burner that *doesn't* work with Linux. Mine's an NEC 3500AG 16X Dual-Layer DVDRW and it runs fine.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #8
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    (I'm gonna buy one as soon as possible... Anybody know about some which works fine with linux by the way?)
    I have yet to find a CD or DVD burner that *doesn't* work with Linux. Mine's an NEC 3500AG 16X Dual-Layer DVDRW and it runs fine.
    LG or Liteon are good too
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    25

    Re: wannabe my friend

    Quote Originally Posted by sdousley
    Quote Originally Posted by anindyapkr
    I like red hat 9.
    Why not upgrade to Fedora Core 3 or 4? Red Hat 9 is now not supported by Red Hat, not since they split their product into Fedora and RH Enterprise.
    Nah, I would stick with Red Hat, you can get security updates and patches from the fedora legacy, that will ensure Red Hat's stablity for at least another 2-3 years.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    LG or Liteon are good too Wink
    Yes, but Sony and Pioneer rule

    NB: I know that Sony is just a rebranded Liteon, so far ive had no troubles with it (had it for year now), but my friends liteon has stopped working altogether.


    anindyapkr, where did you post the question?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •