Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Ive never bought the cd's but I am for the first time, when 3.7 comes out. Hmm it comes with 3 cd's, It should have a IDE on there. Ok ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    25

    Ive never bought the cd's but I am for the first time, when 3.7 comes out. Hmm it comes with 3 cd's, It should have a IDE on there. Ok ive just checked the ports tree, there is a port of eclipse for BSD but it's on the fbsd tree. It's probably on the obsd tree aswell.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    I may have to give OpenBSD a try, once 3.7 comes out.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #13
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Well, I realized my problem last night while fiddling around in PC-BSD (I tend to solve a lot of problems by fiddling around with things). Apparently although there was an "XF86Config" file in my /usr/etc/X11/ directory, that wasn't what was being used by PC-BSD. Once I realized this I quickly worked up an "xorg.conf" file and plopped it in that directory and lo and behold! It works.

    In other news, PC-BSD has a new release, 0.6, and they're working on 0.7. I've been playing with it and I'm still impressed. The main thing that I like (which is what got me interested in Mepis and VidaLinux) is the simple installer that gives me a functional system right off the bat, which I can then take the time to tweak at my leisure.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Wonder why they put both an xorg.con and XF86Config file there...

  6. #15
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    Wonder why they put both an xorg.con and XF86Config file there...
    They didn't, that's the thing. They put just an XF86Config, but they're running X.org, so when I put an xorg.conf in there it worked.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Thats even weirder... Probably just something left if they recently converted the OS from xf86 to xorg.

  8. #17
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    Thats even weirder... Probably just something left if they recently converted the OS from xf86 to xorg.
    I imagine that's the case. They are still in beta after all. At least I was able to figure out the problem. If their newest version has the same problem I'll probably report it to them.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Delft, Holland
    Posts
    95
    The only minor annoyance I had was that the default resolution for the X environment was 1024x768,
    Lucky you, mine is at 800x680, which is the highest I can get it too, are you sure that the config file is stored in /usr/etc/X11?? Since I can't even find the /usr/etc folder, oh well time for bed.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •