Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Yes, all on one 120 GB hard drive. When I first bought the hard drive, I made a bunch of 13 GB partitions to put a whole bunch of OS's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    Yes, all on one 120 GB hard drive.
    When I first bought the hard drive, I made a bunch of 13 GB partitions to put a whole bunch of OS's on.

    When I get money, I think I will buy another hard drive, so , I can put more.

    That reminds me, I have to update my profle.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    I switched distros because I got bored. I will soon try something new, SimplyMepis is too simple to use, too many things work.
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    My many switches:

    Windows XP --> Redhat 9 (wanted to try it)
    Redhat 9 --> Mandrake 10 (OpenOffice.org didn't work in RH)
    Mandrake 10 --> Windows XP (wanted functionality)
    Windows XP --> FC3 (PO'd at Windows and M$)
    FC3 --> Mandrake 10.1 (Kept crashing and freezing)
    Mandrake 10.1 --> SuSE 9.2 (wanted a more professional version, with better package support)
    SuSE 9.2 --> Gentoo 2005.0 Stage1 (wanted a fully customizable experience with source-package support)

    And so here I am at Gentoo, very happy. We'll see how it all goes.

  4. #14
    Linux User cayalee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    england
    Posts
    389
    winwoes->mandrake9.1 (just to see what all the fuss was about)
    mandrake->suse9.1 (wasn't overimpressed with mandrake at all)
    suse 9.1->mandrake10.1 community (was annoyed that couldnt compile stuff and watch dvd's)
    mandrake10.1->suse 9.1 (found out i couldnt do it in that either joined here and solved problems on suse)
    and i love it, just dont really want to pay for a newer version of suse so might give the gentoo install another go, failed miserably at the first hurdle last time tho...
    also went straight from win2k on my laptop to DSL as waiting fifteen mins for a 233hz 64mb ram thing to boot up was gettin on my tits and it wasnt powerful enough for mandrake or suse.
    You know, aliens are going to come to earth in 50 years and kill the hell out of us for DDoSing their networks with this SETI crap
    registered linux user #388463

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168
    Upgraded to Libranet 3.0.

    I prefer Debian. The published "stable" release is getting a little old. Libranet is a frontend to Debian with admin enhancements. Hardware that would not work with Woody's old kernel work fine with LN's 2.6 kernel.

    Libranet 3.0 is the best Linux installation I have managed since starting with early versions of Slackware more than 10 years ago.

    Jeff

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    44
    when i started using linux i tried some different distro's.
    ended up using fedora core and never looked back upgraded to 2 and now 3

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •