Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
Originally Posted by *DEAD* lol, i do program in a bit of asm. its mainly for making games on the TI calculators, however computer asm is pretty much identical. and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by *DEAD*
    lol, i do program in a bit of asm. its mainly for making games on the TI calculators, however computer asm is pretty much identical. and as for the
    I bet my rig cost thoudands less..yet can still preform what yours can.. Very Happy
    can it boot UT2004 in under 4 seconds :P
    I highly doubt that..but I can run the above code I wrote in under 4 seconds..
    you win..
    regards..

    Wizzard

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    235
    lol my hats off to you too for knowing what you reffer to as 100% assebly and win32 asm. i only know hla . and yes i did test it. i raced windows to see how much faster linux was. it was 3 times faster, but that was on the 32 bit os. i removed windows immediately after the test.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by *DEAD*
    lol my hats off to you too for knowing what you reffer to as 100% assebly and win32 asm. i only know hla . and yes i did test it. i raced windows to see how much faster linux was. it was 3 times faster, but that was on the 32 bit os. i removed windows immediately after the test.
    good job on the removal of windows..
    regards..

    Wizzard

  4. #14
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Welcome aboard and best of luck.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    san diego, ca
    Posts
    131
    what exactly do you (or anyone else) need 8gb of ram for??

    and also, how can you spend $1000+ on video cards and not even know what you got?

  6. #16
    SCO
    SCO is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Eh!
    Posts
    65
    Bahah, I was just thinking that, he's talking out of his ass. Worthy of a mention:

    http://savrow.com

  7. #17
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133

    Re: Hello world

    Quote Originally Posted by *DEAD*
    ...
    external 1 TB hd
    ...
    How is that? Are you talking about some kind of SAN setup? Or is this a spoof, because you're easily talking about 5000 even for a homebuilt system. 8GB isn't really gonna benefit anyone who's not using some SQL Server or database of some kind.

    Jeebus I'm really on a cynical buzz this week.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    55

    RE:

    8 Gigs of RAM?? What kind of Motherboard do u have? Or are you clustering?

  9. #19
    SCO
    SCO is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Eh!
    Posts
    65
    Guys, he's talking crap. Face it.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    55

    Re:

    Yes..thats probably correct. Only servers have the ability to have that much RAM, and most likely would have more than one FX55 processor.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •