Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
have you ever just had one of those days where you are sorry you even turned on the computer? it used to happen all the time in windows, but in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205

    one of those days


    have you ever just had one of those days where you are sorry you even turned on the computer? it used to happen all the time in windows, but in linux this is not so common. but today... well, let's just say that my computer is acting like it has a mind of it's own. god, the clock is wrong for no apparent reason, thunderbird takes twice as long to open and uses way too much sistem resourses ("building summary file for inbox"?), one of my favourite web pages is having some trouble, no interesting distros on distrowatch...

    it's just one of those days...
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  2. #2
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    ya, just yesteray i find that firefox went back to the way it was like a month ago (old history and loss of extensions/themes) plus i often find my clock an hour behind???
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    you must have the wrong time zone settings
    one of the stages is to set the cmos clock
    if you are say gmt
    and u acceddently set it to something else
    it will put the cmos clock forward or back so many hours

    as for firefox
    it doesnt display my favourites as late.....
    lol duno why

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    put the timezone in as EST and i think firefox is acting up because it wants me o do a long awaited update.
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    55

    Re:

    Yeah..check the BIOS settings, and also you may need to replace the CMOS battery..It could be going faulty causing you to lose time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •