Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi: Can anyone help? I've just lost two OpenOffice files that I moved from the desktop to my usb-drive. I'm new to Linux and KDE and just can't understand where ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    me!

Urgent: Lost Files!!!

Hi:

Can anyone help? I've just lost two OpenOffice files that I moved from the desktop to my usb-drive.

I'm new to Linux and KDE and just can't understand where they have gone. They seemed to move fine (although I had to rename one as it had special characters in its name) but were not there when I looked at the usb-drive next.

They are not in any other folders (I manually searches as Kfind crahses) or the trash.

Does KDE have any backups that I could find them this way?

Pretty desparate,

Me!

Linux Enthusiast
    What's the name of the files ?

Where did you send them, what was the full command you used to send the files.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Newbie
    did u cut them or copy them. either way there still on your computer, u just need software to find the files. i think there might be a knoppix disk that u can use but i forget the name of it. hope this helps.

me!
    I used cut and paste.

I did a search for every file made in the last two hours but couldn't find it.

I'm amazed it is possible to do this (the last time I can remember losing a file was over ten years ago when I used MSDOS!). There is a lot I like about Linux but glitches like this are pretty worrying ...

Just Joined!
    Did you try the f command