Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
a12ctic=arctic heres a alphabet a=4 b=13 c=( d=|) e=3 f= |= g=6 h= ]-[ I= | j=? k= |< L= |_ m=/\/\ n= /\/ o=0 p=9 Q= ? r=12 s=5 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473

    a12ctic=arctic heres a alphabet

    a=4
    b=13
    c=(
    d=|)
    e=3
    f= |=
    g=6
    h= ]-[
    I= |
    j=?
    k= |<
    L= |_
    m=/\/\
    n= /\/
    o=0
    p=9
    Q= ?
    r=12
    s=5
    t= -|-
    u= |_|
    v= \/
    w= \/\/
    x= ><
    y= '/
    z= -/_

  2. #12
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    That stuff reminds me of the BBS days back in the early 90's. I remember BBS'in on my Amiga 500 after i got my very first modem. It was 1200 buad - can you imagine??? Even then it was considered slow. The average was 2400bps but alas i was poor. . Anyway, the mixed caps lock thing & constructed letters like Dragon = |)rAgOn were very popular in the demo scene and pirate BBS's. The difference was that there was no graphics or HTML so people _had_ to be creative with plain text.

    >sigh< memory lane....
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie jamey112's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    212
    i would not be able to remember that alphabet. one alphabet is enough for me.
    Today I fell and felt better, Just knowing this matters, I just feel stronger and SHARPER!!!, Found a box of sharp objects, What a beautiful THING!!! Box of Sharp Objects - The Used

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada - Eh!
    Posts
    105
    Bought a 400mhz celeron pile of crap back in 99 with windows 98 installed, I used 98/ME/XP untill 2003 when I heard about Linux. Year later I bought a new computer, had a spell with Windows XP, then the Linux bug bit me again, since then Ive used over 15 operating systems, FreeBSD and Debian were my favourites. So now I use Debian.

  6. #15
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    you say your distro is Sid which one is that again?
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  7. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada - Eh!
    Posts
    105
    It's the unstable branch, I upgraded because I heard they started packaging gnome 2.10. I was wrong, so when I ran apt-get dist-upgrade, it broke most of my system and screwed up gnome.

    (Don't touch sid unless you know what your doing... )

  8. #17
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    heh heh same thing happened to me when i was using RH9. I installed apt-get and when i did an dist upgrade, GNOME was FUBAR after that! I had to boot KDE or else no Linux. I afraid of dist-upgrade :P
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  9. #18
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada - Eh!
    Posts
    105
    Yeah I get mentally screwed up without gnome, I can't stand KDE.

  10. #19
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by jamey112
    i would not be able to remember that alphabet. one alphabet is enough for me.
    ya, i kno it from being a hardcore gamer for several years, most people dont remember the whole thing... (i just have to much time) and you can usualy tell what stuff means (sorta)

  11. #20
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Jam
    (Don't touch sid unless you know what your doing... )
    I never had any problems with sid. However, I always change to sid the first thing after installing testing
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •