Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm just getting into this digital music lark i.e. mp3's and shite like that. And am trying to get my head round the concept of "playlists"! What EXACTLY do "they" ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

idiotic question

I'm just getting into this digital music lark i.e. mp3's and shite like that.

And am trying to get my head round the concept of "playlists"!

What EXACTLY do "they" mean by that term?

Because, I'm trying to get some tracks onto my partners Creative" Zen Touch" and I keep coming up against the term.

I'm probably being thick, cos if it means what I suspect, why the hell would anyone what to make a "playlist" from shitloads of tracks - presuming that they just rip whole CD's of music?

Surely, they'd just rip the tracks that they want/like and sod the rest.

I mean, why on earth would you want to make specific lists of tracks, if you only rip the tracks you like - that would defeat the point of only ripping your favourite tracks.

Plus, given the relatively limited space of mp3 player storage memory, logic says that you wouldn't bother ripping whole CDs and then just tell it to play specific tracks, you'd just rip your favourites???

Oh Bollocks. I don't know! Google seems to (probably), but given that it gave me over 7 million hits for the word "playlist", I wouldn't know where to start to find a "proper" definition!

Any advice/clarification is much appreciated.

regards

John

I don't know if this is what you are looking for but...

http://www.sockpuppet.org/tqbf/sss.html

And "mp3 playlist" returned fewer results.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

Linux Guru
    search google with "define:KEYWORD" to get definitions.

eg:

http://www.google.com/search?q=define%3Aplaylist

please try and keep the swearing to a minimum in the future please