Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
I'm curious as to why you would want to learn to use Linux, because sometimes it's very painful! I started because I'm studying Computer Science. I don't think I can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Why do you guys use Linux? What is your job?

I'm curious as to why you would want to learn to use Linux, because sometimes it's very painful! I started because I'm studying Computer Science. I don't think I can call myself a CS student of any respectability without knowing Linux!

Linux Newbie
    i got bored with WinXp and thought to give it a try for my summer holidays ..........................n i am loving it.I was waiting for FC4 tonight but they ditched me by extending the release date to 13th.This was not fair.I formatted my 30 gb partiton containing movies n music to make space for fc4 but now all in vain ..........i cant even cry

Linux Engineer
    I picked up GNU/Linux initially out of boredom, but now I would cite other reasons for using it, primarily because I want to contribute to the free software movement and because I find free UNIX-like operating systems superior to Microsoft Windows in many respects. I don't have a job in computers and I'm not a computer science major, but instead I'm a student majoring in history in college. Computers are just a hobby on the side for me.

I use Linux and FreeBSD at home, and Microsoft Windows XP at work, since I have no choice. I like freedom in my operating system, and by that I mean the choice to use a different window manager on the fly or change my hardware without having to get Microsoft's "blessing". Also, Linux is made for programmers. I write software for a living. I too was a CS student once.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants