Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all! I'm a student with no computer of my own as of yet. I've been using my parents' Win98 box for the past few years, but I'm about to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hello and introduction to myself

Hi all!

I'm a student with no computer of my own as of yet. I've been using my parents' Win98 box for the past few years, but I'm about to buy a laptop, and then it's bye-bye Mircosloth. :P

My first computer was an MS-DOS box with green-on-black screen. We soon moved to Windows 3.1, which was great fun to play around with and learn on, but too slow for most practical uses. We got our current machine shorlty after Windows 98 came out. At that time, I didn't know all that much about computers (though I had always been "good" with them). I liked the Windows GUI much more than the Mac, but there was always something I didn't quite like about Microsoft, though I couldn't quite put my finger on it. As I watched MS over recent years, I grew to dislike them more and more. They seemed to be pursuing some distorted idea of user-friendlyness. The way I see it, if a powerful machine isn't logical and doesn't do what it's told, someone could get hurt (not to mention that it's not very useful). Computers are no different: they should be logical and do what they're told. From what I've seen of Windows XP, MS is headed in just the opposite direction, to a world where computers control their users, rather than the other way around.

I've known about "open-source" projects such as Mozilla for a while, and the idea interested me somewhat. But it didn't strike me as a very big or widespread thing.