Find the answer to your Linux question:
When I started learning linux a few months ago I found it so so so tempting every time I came up with a minor problem to, a) Immeadiately post a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

I love this

When I started learning linux a few months ago I found it so so so tempting every time I came up with a minor problem to,
    a) Immeadiately post a million messages on forums like this asking others to do the work for me.
    or
    b) Throw my hands up in disgust and boot up XP.
    But I think I finally get it. Don't get me wrong, forums like this are brilliant (thanks guys!), but one of the joys of linux (for me) is learning by myself -- of course with the help of google!

Anyway, after only beginning a couple of months ago I have managed to test 5 different distros and decided on a favourite (SuSE9.2), installing them all myself, removing the ones I don't like, and today (trumpets please), I managed to create/move/resize a few partitions and move my /home directory to its own place!!
    I love the fact that this OS lets you have SO much control of your own system, and works in such a neat, clean, self-consistent way.

Hope I didn't take up too much of your time reading this drivel

Steve
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

oz
    forum.guy

Re: I love this

Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    but one of the joys of linux (for me) is learning by myself -- of course with the help of google!

Steve
    ...the power of the almighty "search" is a powerful force, indeed!

Just Joined!

Re: I love this

Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    and today (trumpets please), I managed to create/move/resize a few partitions and move my /home directory to its own place!!