Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
I've seen lots of questions on this forum about how to get RAID working on Linux, but I don't know anything about it myself. What are the benefits to setting ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Benefits of RAID?


    I've seen lots of questions on this forum about how to get RAID working on Linux, but I don't know anything about it myself. What are the benefits to setting up drives in a RAID configuration? What's the overall point to it? What makes it so wonderful that people will bang their heads into walls for weeks trying to get it to work in Linux? I'm genuinely curious. Enlighten me.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Here's the lowdown on Raid.

    http://www.prepressure.com/techno/raid.htm

    I use Raid 0 for video capture. One SCSI has a data rate of @ 50MB/sec, running 2 in Raid 0 the data rate is @ 100MB/sec, and running 4 in Raid 0 the data rate increases to @ 115MB/sec.

    I used to run Raid 0 on my main boot drive on my gaming rig but it's a major pain when one of the drives dies as you have to completely rebuild the array and reinstall the OS.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    There are none, other than increased hair loss through ripping out large chucks of it!!!

    Though it either makes your data a lot safer (each HDD has /exactly/ the same operations performed on it so if one fails you can keep going) or a lot quicker to access (it places the same data on each HDD, but accesses half of whatever is being accessed from one and the other half from the other).
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by LondoJowo
    Here's the lowdown on Raid.

    http://www.prepressure.com/techno/raid.htm
    Well explained, and I can see why companies would want RAID on their servers. However, why would someone want to go to that much trouble for a desktop system?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Well explained, and I can see why companies would want RAID on their servers. However, why would someone want to go to that much trouble for a desktop system?
    Because their controller seemed not to let them do anything different, the little rascal...
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    yes it seems prety usless to me

  8. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Odd_Bloke
    Because their controller seemed not to let them do anything different, the little rascal...
    Haha. Well in the case of the VIA K8T800, I can say with confidence that yes, you can hook up 2 SATA drives in a non-RAID configuration.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Just to let you know I edited my post to show why people run Raid 0 to get a performance gain.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  10. #9
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by LondoJowo
    Just to let you know I edited my post to show why people run Raid 0 to get a performance gain.
    Ok. The more I learn about it the less I see it as necessary or even desirable to me personally. So it's useful for servers and high-level multimedia. Ok. I'll move along then.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Haha. Well in the case of the VIA K8T800, I can say with confidence that yes, you can hook up 2 SATA drives in a non-RAID configuration.
    Now you're just rubbing it in! :P
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •