Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
he works for the city of chicago, and they put a EM64T xeon in it, am i wrong or isnt this primarly a server processor?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473

    My dad is getting a laptop for his work


    he works for the city of chicago, and they put a EM64T xeon in it, am i wrong or isnt this primarly a server processor?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    no xeons can be workstation processors too however i have never heard of one being put in a laptop
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by carlosponti
    no xeons can be workstation processors too however i have never heard of one being put in a laptop
    me either, im gona have to get a closer look at it once he brings it home.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    85
    Xeon in a laptop? sweeeeeeeeeeeet.

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by SpaceSquad
    Xeon in a laptop? sweeeeeeeeeeeet.
    yes he said i could use it to

    also i saw this in your profile

    "2nd Box (Janus): AMD Duron 750MHz | 192mb | TNT 2 Vanta | 30gb | Slack 10.1 " my 2end box is very simular

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    Can ye put any linux distro on it?
    All i want for christmas is a new liver....a second chance to get afflicted with Cirrhosis

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dazed and Confused
    Posts
    7
    I have slackware 10.1 on a IBM pentium 100 mhz -- 9gb hard drive -- 32 mb ram. It may be slow but it goes uhh errr somewhat.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by purplehaze128
    I have slackware 10.1 on a IBM pentium 100 mhz -- 9gb hard drive -- 32 mb ram. It may be slow but it goes uhh errr somewhat.
    I pity you.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Baghdad, Iraq
    Posts
    6
    are you sure that it's a xeon? the reason i ask is that i have a p4 650 in my laptop. it supports emt64 extensions, and this may be what you are thinking of. the problem is that you must keep it plugged into main power, cause it burns through the battery faster than snoop dog through a dime bag.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •