Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
I just wanted to say, I've just installed OpenOffice 2.0, and I'm really impressed, I really think we have some serious competition for Microsoft Office. Everything just looks so... professional, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542

    OpenOffice 2.0


    I just wanted to say, I've just installed OpenOffice 2.0, and I'm really impressed, I really think we have some serious competition for Microsoft Office. Everything just looks so... professional, especially base.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    You forgot the most important thing: the speed has improved greatly.

    Although it's all screwed up with the GTK-Qt engine, or mabye the GTK-Qt engine is the problem.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    i'm also very impressed with it....with what both the above posts say. it's much quicker and looks very nice

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    i use it on windows as well and the speed has greatly improved there too.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    anybody know why they have packaged the installation in an RPM based form. Unlike the gui installer that came with 1.14. I'm not a big rpm fan. Guess I'll wait for an ebuild in gentoo or would love to hear that i'm missing something and that there is a different installation method--besides the source method which looks way to tedious and mainly aimed at devolopers.

    nonetheless i'm excited for new version
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by spencerf
    anybody know why they have packaged the installation in an RPM based form. Unlike the gui installer that came with 1.14. I'm not a big rpm fan. Guess I'll wait for an ebuild in gentoo or would love to hear that i'm missing something and that there is a different installation method--besides the source method which looks way to tedious and mainly aimed at devolopers.

    nonetheless i'm excited for new version
    You can get it through portage. I installed the binary version, it's quite a bit faster to install (takes about half an hour, compared to something like 5 or 6 hours it would take otherwise...).
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    yeah but portage doesn't yet have 2.0. I already have previous 1.14 version. Guess I'll just have to wait.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    36
    Portage does have 2.0 ... but it is masked for testing.

  9. #9
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    i love it but i hate it. its nice and smooth, but it takes forever to load for no reason at all and it uses java.
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  10. #10
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by spencerf
    yeah but portage doesn't yet have 2.0. I already have previous 1.14 version. Guess I'll just have to wait.
    You could install it the same as in Slackware. Just convert the RPM's to .tgz's and install. That's what I did, and everything works perfectly.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •