Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Well? http://unitedemailsystems.com/v2/index.shtml...
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542

    Is this a scam??


  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    323
    Gmail started a year ago or so with 2GB and they're upping with about 0.5MB per second, so not before long will any gmail account hold 5GB too. The domain name resolves to an Alabama company. Never been there but seem like friendly folks.

    Tech

  3. #3
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    359
    It's free, so what's the real risk here? Otherwise I agree with what technossomy said.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    150
    Well you'll of course want to check out the privacy policy first.

    Gmail can't be increasing at .5MB/s - at that rate you'd get an extra gigabyte in under an hour. Did you mean KB?
    \"Nifty News Fifty: When news breaks, we give you the pieces.\" - Sluggy Freelance

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,814
    I almost never get pop-ups in Mozilla on WinXP. I went to the link posted above and when I exited, I got a pop-up! Seems odd for a site that offers "Spam, Virus, and CRAP free Email". Or maybe they mean "Spam, Virus, CRAP and free Email".
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    I don't like it. Their logo sparkles.
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542
    I think it's definatly a scam... who the hell can offer 5 gigabytes of FREE web space, 5 gigabytes of FREE e-mail space, and 250 megabyte attachments? On that note I don't even think it's possible to have 250 megabyte attachments. Do you know how long that would take to upload on dialup and what a strain that would put on servers if even a relatively small number of users like 10000 were submitting 250 megabyte attachments with 5 gb web space and 5 gb e-mail??
    Oh, and guys, look at the capital "UES" logo... it looks like it says "LIES" at first glance... a subliminal message?

  8. #8
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    359
    How many people are going to be sending 250mb attatchments anyway? That's nuts! There's really only 1 way to find out if it's a scam or not and that's to join.

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    542
    Guys, seriously, the "UES" logo looks like it says "LIES"...
    I'll join up, seriously, see how it goes, and post the results here... maybe I've found the new GMail?? I'm on Firefox, so any auto-executing spyware won't be able to start.

  10. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    323
    Quote Originally Posted by Workaphobia
    Gmail can't be increasing at .5MB/s - at that rate you'd get an extra gigabyte in under an hour. Did you mean KB?
    Even an activity as simple as counting I have to leave to others.

    Tech

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •