Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I subscribe to LewRockwell.com through my yahoo mail account. I use my Konqueror browser which is not geared to flash yahoo's ads into my eyes as I try to read ...
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast cousinlucky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    575

    Konqueror Website Warning ???

    I subscribe to LewRockwell.com through my yahoo mail account. I use my Konqueror browser which is not geared to flash yahoo's ads into my eyes as I try to read my Email. At any rate this morning I clicked a story: Answering JFK's Question - an interview with Gore Vidal, and was greeted by a Warning.

    Warning ! It appears that you are about to access a website that has non-standard web address format. Such sites may contain harmful entities such as viruses. We recommend you use extreme caution.

    Needless to say that scared me off from going to that website link. I am wondering if any other forum members have ever received such a warning while using the Konqueror browser? Is the warning a hoax of some kind?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi - Must admit I've never had that experience. At least it shows that Konqueror has good security.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,562
    Quote Originally Posted by cousinlucky
    I subscribe to LewRockwell.com through my yahoo mail account. I use my Konqueror browser which is not geared to flash yahoo's ads into my eyes as I try to read my Email. At any rate this morning I clicked a story: Answering JFK's Question - an interview with Gore Vidal, and was greeted by a Warning.

    Warning ! It appears that you are about to access a website that has non-standard web address format. Such sites may contain harmful entities such as viruses. We recommend you use extreme caution.

    Needless to say that scared me off from going to that website link. I am wondering if any other forum members have ever received such a warning while using the Konqueror browser? Is the warning a hoax of some kind?
    Hi cousinlucky,

    Strangely enough, I frequently visit LewRockwell.com as well. I use Firefox and haven't received that error message... Wait a moment, I'll try with konqueror... No problem with konqueror when going there either. I wonder what's up with that? Maybe you're using a newer version than I am... I don't think it's anything to worry about though. LewRockwell.com is the very last place I think one could run into a Linux virus.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,408
    Code:
    <meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">
    <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 4.0">
    <title> Interview with Gore Vidal </title>
    Found the reason
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,562
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast cousinlucky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    575
    Thanks Everyone!! I am very sorry Vergil83 but I am much too computer illiterate to understand what you found. If at all possible could you explain what happened in old man-talk?

    Hi Dan, maybe it is the Suse Linux 10 OS that I use. Do you frequent F.F.F. as well?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,408
    Quote Originally Posted by cousinlucky
    Thanks Everyone!! I am very sorry Vergil83 but I am much too computer illiterate to understand what you found. If at all possible could you explain what happened in old man-talk?
    Oh, that showed the website was made using microsoft's front page program, so Konqueror was being smart

    It just came to me, that the reason that is happening is the site the interview is on is using the ip address instead of a name.

    If you go to http://www.lewrockwell.com/, and click on the link for "Answering JFK's Question" you will see it sends you to the website http://207.44.245.159/article8512.htm
    I don't konw why they didn't put informationclearinghouse.info/ in for that ip, but I think that is why konqueror is warning you.
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast cousinlucky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    575
    Thank You, Vergil83 !!
    I do not have the equipment or knowhow to detect addresses. A warning like that scares me due to the multitude of problems I had using Windows online. Back then my Kerio Firewall log would inform me of the IP addresses that had scanned my computer during sessions but I could not do anything about that.

    Periodically Microsoft bars my Konqueror browser access to sites under their control and I have to switch to Opera. Sometimes the Internet rattles my nerves more than a guy holding a gun. Windows Trauma, I guess!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •