Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just want to hear some opinions about this and most forums, not only linux but all kinds of forums. In my experience if you are a total newbie, you ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Forum quality

I just want to hear some opinions about this and most forums, not only linux but all kinds of forums.

In my experience if you are a total newbie, you will get help at any forum. This means that you get the solution to easy or common problems. Usually common startup issues

On the other hand, if you need help for someting less common - it's probably not worth taking the time to post it on a forum.

Why is it so, or is it so? Maybe experienced users solve their problem on their own or by other means than a forum, while newbies are more likely to turn to the forum for help...

Just wondering...

For some really hard questions, I've posted in several places, looking for parts of the answer - and I've found it, and pieced it together. Then it becomes a bit of a chore posting out the full solution to those that chipped in with a little bit of help. The questions I ask these days are multi-faceted; much more than just simple one-dimensional beginners questions.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Quote Originally Posted by Roxoff
    For some really hard questions, I've posted in several places, looking for parts of the answer - and I've found it, and pieced it together. Then it becomes a bit of a chore posting out the full solution to those that chipped in with a little bit of help. The questions I ask these days are multi-faceted; much more than just simple one-dimensional beginners questions.
    Not to mention that some questions admit multiple solutions... I can see the use of forums regardless of the type of question you ask... It is a great resource...
    -D-

Registered User # 402675

drl