Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to the Open Source community and have been using Linux consistently for 2 years now. I started with Mdk and then switched to Suse10 and now I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

How do the bills get paid?

I am new to the Open Source community and have been using Linux consistently for 2 years now. I started with Mdk and then switched to Suse10 and now I really like Fedora5. I have found that the software among the community is outstanding. Comparable apps like the Gimp and Open Office, Scribus and Inkscape would cost hundreds if not thousands among proprietary aps. Not to mention the server capabilities of Unix like OS's. The more I discover among this community, the more I am amazed and the question comes to mind:”How do these people pay their bills when they devote so much time into these projects and offer it to the community for free?”

Someone has to make some money somewhere. At least thats what I think.

I am very thankful that these generous souls are willing to give this quality to end users like myself, and that free of charge.

Any input is always appreciated.

distributions like fedora and suse and other common ones like that make their money, not off of their standard suites, but off their enterprise versions. Few years beck, Red Hat split into 2 sides... Fedora Core the home edition, free to download etc... and also Red Hat Enterprise Linux, aimed at the business market. This does cost, but in with that cost comes the official support, this is probably where most of the distro companies get most of their money from.

Sure they also do some form of advertising some places in order to bring a bit more money in.

People prove me wrong if u want/can hehe
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327