Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
I am curious to know the size of your swap partition and how much actually gets used. I know all the tutorials and howtos want you to double your swap ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864

    What's your swap size/usage


    I am curious to know the size of your swap partition and how much actually gets used. I know all the tutorials and howtos want you to double your swap according to your RAM, but I have not yet used more than 170MB of a 300MB swap.
    In the middle of compiling mplayer within X, and launching every RAM eating program I can think of, all I can get is:
    Code:
    free
    ------------total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:        253244     234156      19088          0       2424      76244
    -/+ buffers/cache:     155488      97756
    Swap:       305192     171832     133360
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    It depends, on my laptop I like the SWAP size equivalent to the RAM, so 1024M, because I like to use the hibernate, which dumps the content of the RAM into SWAP before powering off.

    Otherwise, for machines of 512M of RAM and more not needing hibernate, I use the minimal SWAP possible, so something like 256M.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    i have 512 MB RAM and i allocated 512 MB SWAP space.
    my machine never used more than 120MB swap space.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined! SuSEholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    28
    My lappie:
    Code:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       1546596    1511388      35208          0      20888     486672
    -/+ buffers/cache:    1003828     542768
    Swap:       262136       1288     260848
    My deskie:
    Code:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       2067880    2010612      57268          0      65080    1620216
    -/+ buffers/cache:     325316    1742564
    Swap:      2097144        132    2097012
    The pc (deskie) is used by my sister right now, she's just chatting, but usually the swap get's used about > 1.5Gb, when this pc used as a development machine.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    I use a desktop that I built myself. It has 1GB of RAM and 1GB of swap. The most swap I have ever used was about 100MB though I can't remember what it was. Generally it won't be more than about 300k used.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Quote Originally Posted by SuSEholic
    but usually the swap get's used about > 1.5Gb, when this pc used as a development machine.
    What are you doing that needs 1.5GB of swap

  7. #7
    Just Joined! SuSEholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    28
    What are you doing that needs 1.5GB of swap
    Eclipse, JBoss AS, PostgreSQL, Vim.

    Well, may be it's because that machine is get used by more than 1 people at a time (through ssh).

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    What are you doing that needs 1.5GB of swap
    That was my point exactly. antidrugue had a good point though, Hibernate is something I never considered. That would be several hundred MB right there.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 1036012 956620 79392 0 76480 614228
    -/+ buffers/cache: 265912 770100
    Swap: 1052248 0 1052248
    I have 1gig ram and I have never seen swap with even 1mb
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  10. #10
    Just Joined! SuSEholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    28
    I have 1gig ram and I have never seen swap with even 1mb
    That's means your memory usage isn't exceed your physical ram.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •