Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am very new to debian and have come straight from a windows mindset. I have started to create a NAS server for work and so far have BackupPC working. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RAID Configuration with Highpoint RocketRaid 1640

I am very new to debian and have come straight from a windows mindset.

I have started to create a NAS server for work and so far have BackupPC working. My hard drives have finally turned up this week and I am using a Highpoint RocketRaid 1640 with 3 500GB hard drives in a RAID 5 configuration (built in BIOS). I initially had the noob thought that this array would then appear in /dev but I was sadly mistaken. Can somebody explain to me how I can see this array so that I can mount it? Do I have to reconfigure my kernel?
    I went onto the highpoint site and found that there was no set driver for debian... I do however believe there would be a challenging way to get this to work though. I have search everywhere today though and can not find anything about setting up a rocketraid 1640 with debian.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can shince some light on this issue.

Just Joined!
    I have decided to try dmraid instead of getting the drivers to work. Please stop me if this isn't a good method. I have installed dmraid but when I send "dmraid -ay" in the terminal I get the following error:

ERROR: hpt45x: RAID type 8 not supported
    ERROR: adding /dev/hde to RAID set "hpt45x_ihiafcedi"
    ERROR: adding /dev/hdg to RAID set "hpt45x_ihiafcedi"
    ERROR: adding /dev/hdi to RAID set "hpt45x_ihiafcedi"
    No RAID sets

Can anyone inform me what this means?

Just Joined!
    Disregard my last post. I found another forum where a guy had the exact problem as me with a 1640 rocketraid.

Problems when installing RAID5 with a Highpoint 1640 card - Ubuntu Forums