Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi someone told me I couldn't send a fax via a dsl modem. Is that true?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Can I send faxes with a dsl modem?

Hi someone told me I couldn't send a fax via a dsl modem. Is that true?

Quote Originally Posted by rapattack View Post
    Hi someone told me I couldn't send a fax via a dsl modem. Is that true?
    I'm no expert on Fax or DSL, but I'm pretty sure Fax requires a dedicated phone line.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

You can usually send Fax over a dialup modem though I doubt you could use a DSL modem as they work on a different part of the spectrum than Fax and voice communications. Dialup modems use the voice range as does Fax so they almost always work, depending on supporting software for the protocols.

oz
    forum.guy
    Maybe you could hook up a dialup line to your computer fax modem for faxing, then continue running DSL through the same line with a filter, of course.

That's basically what I do, except that I have a regular fax machine and my DSL modem going to the same DSL line.
    oz

Linux Newbie
    MikeTbob-what is a dedicted phone line?

bigtomrodney-yeah that seems to be what people are saying on the net but I guess without me know the technologies really well I don't understand it much. I have only had dsl for 3 months and used to used dialup prior to that.