Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux, I just installed the latest build of Debian on a second hard drive. I am using a Radeon 9200 graphics card. I don't know if knowing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help me please!!!

I'm new to Linux, I just installed the latest build of Debian on a second hard drive.

I am using a Radeon 9200 graphics card. I don't know if knowing that will help answer the question or not.

I got linux installed, and accidentally chose 1280x960 for my resolution, which will not normally work. Then, when Debian booted up, the screen was HUGE. All I could see was "Sessions", which took up the entire screen. With the help of a friend, I managed to log in, and get to the desktop. After exiting out of the windows, the desktop was normal resolution. But, when I opened a window, or even hovered and got tool tips, the text was also HUGE. I mean, one word takes up the entire screen huge. I'm not sure if this is a problem with just text size or with resolution. I can't even see what I'm doing in the configuration windows, so I can't really do anything about it.

Does anyone know of any way to fix this, such as changing text/resolution size with the keyboard? I tried Ctrl+Alt+ - or +, but it did not work to change it. Can anyone help, or do I have to completely reinstall?

Thanks very much in advance.

Linux Newbie
    This sounds like a resolution problem. You should be able to get to a terminal from the login screen by pressing Ctrl+Alt+F1. Once you're there, use a text editor to open your XF86Config file, which should be something like /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 (an "ls /etc/X11" should show you it). Then scroll down to the "Screen" section for your monitor and look at the "Modes" lines. Each of these lines should contain a whitespace-separated list of resolutions in quotes. For example, my Screen section looks like this:
    Code:
    Section "Screen"