Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
How can i install kde on debian? apt-get install kde (OK) apt-get remove gdm (OK) but still debian uses gnome.How can i switch between them? Thanks in advance....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9

    KDE desktop instead of gnome


    How can i install kde on debian?
    apt-get install kde (OK)
    apt-get remove gdm (OK)
    but still debian uses gnome.How can i switch between them?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    You need to install kdm and kde core:

    Code:
    #apt-get install kdm kde-core
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9
    After that i must chose the kde session right?

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Yes, if I remember right (it's been a long time since I did this) you need to log out. You should then be greeted by the kdm log in screen, and from here you'll be able to log into kde.
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thank you.

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Has it worked?
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I would suggest you to use aptitude instead of apt-get. One should avoid apt-get for installing meta-packages.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    One should avoid apt-get for installing meta-packages.
    Why? Just out of curiosity...
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Manchunian View Post
    Has it worked?
    nah, i haven't tried yet but looking forward to.
    Also seems you have no confidence that it works at all

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Also seems you have no confidence that it works at all
    I do have confidence that it works because it's something I've done loads of times before. You just never know what sort of issues can arise...

    Note: for the record, I use Fluxbox: far superior to kde in my opinion.
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •