Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all! I am relatively new to linux. I have just installed debian 'sarge' - the testing release. well it took me a while, I was at it for 3 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Rebuild kernel to enable wireless.. HOW!?

Hi all!

I am relatively new to linux. I have just installed debian 'sarge' - the testing release. well it took me a while, I was at it for 3 days!! I have a dell inspiron 500m laptop, so I had dramas with enabling the 855 chipset to 1024x768 resolution... anyways, i have got that working now.

now, I am trying to get the wireless centrino going. I am following the installation instructions on the 'ipw2100' website. Now this stuff is really getting outside my capabilities, so i could use some help .

It says I need the ensure that the wireless capabilties are enabled within the kernel (CONFIG_NET_RADIO). The 'autoconf.h' file it mentions should be listed under '/lib/modules/2.4.26/build/include/linux/' .... but it is not. Infact it is listed somewhere under /usr/lib.. i can't remember excately where, because I am back in windows. Anyways, looking through the autoconf.h file there, CONFIG_NET_RADIO was disabled. So how do I enable it??

I installed debian from a cd. And I don't have the kernel source installed. I am also new to the apt-get features. Oh yea, and my sources.list file does not have websites listed, because I do not have the internet working yet. Hopefully someone can tell me what I should put there, so I can goto work tomorrow and use the broadband there.. if LAN works ie!

I was pumped to get the wireless working today... to stumble on a problem in the FIRST step is rather amusing! ..

cheers
    --

Bolt.

first, install the kernel source. then cd to the kernel source directory. run make xconfig, and then proceed to the section regarding networking and set it up!

Just Joined!
    A nice recompiling guide can be found here: