Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm a linux noob, trying to install development tools on an EEE pc with it's Xandros distribution (Xandros is part of Debian, right?). I'm following these instructions ( Installing Development ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Development Tools, installation failure

I'm a linux noob, trying to install development tools on an EEE pc with it's Xandros distribution (Xandros is part of Debian, right?). I'm following these instructions (Installing Development Tools [EeeUser Eee PC Wiki]).

All seemed to be going well until I got the error:

dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/dpkg-dev_1.13.25_all.deb (--unpack):

unable to create './usr/share/man/ru/man1/882-date.1.gz': No space left on device

I'm assuming this means I don't have anough free space on my eee PC, however my disk utility says I have 605m free space. How large are the tools?

So now the install has apparently stopped (just a black blox cursor preceeded by no text). Did it unistall itself since it failed? Am I left with half an app? If I clear some space and try again will it help? Will it overwrite the half install (if there is one)?

EDIT: When I type "df" I'm told that none of my partitions are full. The majority say 61%.

EDIT AGAIN: I am trying to save a small text file and it says I have no space left to do so. However the disk utility still says I have 605 m.....

EDIT THRID TIME: In Diagnostic Tools, under the storage icon it says:

Filesystem Size Used
    /dev/sda1 2.3G 100%
    /dev/sda2 1.4g 61%

Help and thanks

Hi and Welcome !

Check the contents of /var/cache/apt/archives folder.
    Execute this to clear cache
    Code:
    df -h
    sudo apt-get clean all
    df -h
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

can you post the output of
    Code:
    df -h