Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Installing glibc 2.4

Hi, I'm looking for help regarding installing glibc 2.4 - some info about my system is below. I'm new to linux, and I'm trying to get gcc 4.1.1 to work(my distro didn't come with a compiler, AFAICT).

I downloaded a binary for gcc, but it says I need glibc 2.4. I got 2.4, but now I don't know how to install it so that the system knows it's available. I unzipped it into a subdirectory in /lib, but that didn't do anything. It came with a makefile, but running it tells me that I need to configure it first. Running configure, I get "You must configure in a separate build directory." What does this mean? What's special about a build directory and how do I create one?

I'll probably have followup questions, so thanks in advance.

(ASUS Eee PC running the full desktop in Xandros, which I believe is related to Debian)

apt-get command should work under Xandros... (Thats what Google says at least) I don't have direct knowledge of it but try under root or sudo or su

apt-get install glibc-2.4

I'm sorry; I should have stated before that I don't have internet access on that computer right now - that's the cause of all this trouble(long story).

So, I need to do whatever apt-get install does - but by hand. How can I learn what that is?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    From a different machine, you can download the files you need using apt-get, transfer them to your computer, and then use apt-get to install them.
    Code:
    apt-get -d install gcc-4.1
    This will download the necessary files. Then use the following on your computer to install from these files.
    Code:
    apt-get --no-download --ignore-missing install gcc-4.1
    You'll have to figure out where "apt-get -d" puts the downloaded files, and then where --no-download expects the files to be.

Good luck!

PS: Welcome to the forums!