Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm fairly new to Linux (as far as converting from msft with extreme prejudice, at least), and I've been doing a good bit of learning. I'm the 'Internet ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New guy << need help with enterprise level email server

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Linux (as far as converting from msft with extreme prejudice, at least), and I've been doing a good bit of learning.

I'm the 'Internet Technology Manager' at work, and we've been primarily a Microsoft house, aside from our mail server. I've inherited the admin duties of our email server.

The person who built the current setup is no longer with the company, and while he did a great job in recent years getting everything set up, most of the documentation I have to work with is reactive, i.e. 'when this gets hosed, do this', that kind of thing.

From what I've researched about heavy-traffic email systems over the years, Linux is the best/most stable solution, 'nuff said, and I'm on board with that.

I've spent the past month getting very friendly with Linux, and I must say I'm impressed, although bewildered some of the time as I learn.

As a Microsoft partner, we host hundreds of websites with IIS, manage our domains with various 2k3 and 2k8 servers, and I imagine that's not going away anytime soon since we're developing and encouraging .NET.

The email server, though, is Linux, and we plan on keeping it that way, which I'm all for, although my skill and confidence level on that platform is low.

Basically, if our off-site data center were to burn to the ground and we needed to rebuild from scratch, I'd be completely skunked to reconstruct what we have in place currently.

I'm learning as fast as I can, and currently have 17 wrox/o'reilly/sam's books going at once, trying to catch up. My ultimate goal is to build an image that I can just drop on a new machine and get up and running.