Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I am new to linux. I have created a user account on a ubuntu workstation. I log into the terminal as this new user and when i try to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unable to create files and folders

Hi. I am new to linux. I have created a user account on a ubuntu workstation. I log into the terminal as this new user and when i try to create a file i get that permission is denied. I would like to create a file such that this new user and other members of a group can access it. Please help.

Power

Where are you trying to create the files/folders? Users only have access to their own home directories unless you grant permission to that user or a group they are in.

Just Joined!

Re:

I went to the users home directory and tried to create the file. I check the persmission on the default directory created and saw that only root had permission. I logged on as root and changed that persmission and i was then able to create the file. I am still trying to figure out how to let a new user create files and folders in his home directory.
    I am using ububtu 9.04 desktop on Alpha.

Power

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Powermann View Post
    I went to the users home directory and tried to create the file. I check the persmission on the default directory created and saw that only root had permission. I logged on as root and changed that persmission and i was then able to create the file. I am still trying to figure out how to let a new user create files and folders in his home directory.
    I am using ububtu 9.04 desktop on Alpha.

Power
    by default the user should be the owner of his own folder... if thats not the case you should probably run chown username:username /home/username

I am still trying to figure out how to let a new user create files and folders in his home directory.