Find the answer to your Linux question:
My CPU is Athlon 64 X2 5600+ with 4GB of RAM. Currently I don't see a reason to run with 64-bit so I'm looking for a kernel to handle the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Requesting recommendation for which kernel to run

My CPU is Athlon 64 X2 5600+ with 4GB of RAM. Currently I don't see a reason to run with 64-bit so I'm looking for a kernel to handle the dual core and 4GB of memory. When I checked the list of linux images on Debian's website the closest I found was a 686 with bigmem, but it was for Intel Pentium chips.

Any suggestions would be gratefully received. Thanks

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

I've been running 64-bit for the last 8 months without any issues. Is there some reason you don't want it?
    oz

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the welcome.

I get the impression from different articles I've read that there are not many applications that take advantage of the 64-bit environment. Also, there are problems running some 32-bit applications, especially iceweasel. So I thought I would just wait awhile.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by randyepperson View Post
    Thanks for the welcome.

I get the impression from different articles I've read that there are not many applications that take advantage of the 64-bit environment. Also, there are problems running some 32-bit applications, especially iceweasel. So I thought I would just wait awhile.
    The main thing that held some back was the lack of 64-bit Flash, but that's been taken care of so many folks are now enjoying the 64-bit kernel. 64-bit certainly plays with the 4 GB RAM better. I'd suggest making a backup of your current system, then trying the 64-bit setup to see how it works for you.

Maybe some of the others will offer up some better suggestions.
    oz

Just Joined!