Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Hi. I'm completly new at linux and i'm trying to install Debian. Everything runs smoothly until the part when Additional software are beeing installed. I haven't made any other choices ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11

    Installation problems


    Hi. I'm completly new at linux and i'm trying to install Debian. Everything runs smoothly until the part when Additional software are beeing installed. I haven't made any other choices than the standard ones (Desktop environment and i think it also was standard system or something like that). Suddenly the screen just goes black as if the computer has shut down and i can't do anything not even eject the dvd so the computer basicly has frozen completly. I've tried installing about 20 times now and I have tried removing hardware that isn't necessary and i have disabled everything in bios just to be sure... Can someone plz help me

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer b2bwild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Behind You!
    Posts
    1,108
    Have you tried any other distro?
    Never make any misteaks.

    Read my Blog at --> Penguin Inside Subscribe Feed

  3. #3
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by b2bwild View Post
    Have you tried any other distro?
    I agree, try any LiveCD just to see how it goes.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11

    thx

    Ok thx guys. I Will try Ubuntu instead..

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Bearcosta View Post
    Ok thx guys. I Will try Ubuntu instead..
    Post your machine's specs here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11
    It's an old AMD 950mhz computer. The motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-7ZMMH. Chipset with build in S3 savage 4 graphics core. 256 mb RAM

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer b2bwild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Behind You!
    Posts
    1,108
    get Xubuntu, instead of Ubuntu.
    Never make any misteaks.

    Read my Blog at --> Penguin Inside Subscribe Feed

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11
    Ok I will.. but what is the difference?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    256MB RAM is not enough for most of major distros having Gnome or KDE. Xfce is a light Desktop Environment and Xubuntu has Xfce only.
    Try any lightweight distro.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11
    I found another 256 memory.. will 512 mb be enough to install Ubuntu instead with gnome? thx for your help btw

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •