Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I am using an Asus eee pc 4b with Linux Debian os on it, I think ! I have tried connecting to our windows 2003 server at work and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Problems using connect to desktop

Hi

I am using an Asus eee pc 4b with Linux Debian os on it, I think !

I have tried connecting to our windows 2003 server at work and I get a login ok, normally login ok and then the application just seems to disappear

I am connecting to the internet via wireless, the internet connection seems fine

Can anyone help me get a better connection please ?

I am new to Linux so maybe I am not doing something obvious ?

Thanks

Regards Andy

Just Joined!
    What kind of authentication is the win2003 server expecting at login?
    And how are you trying to connect?

SSH?
    Telnet?
    Are both machines set for clear password authentication?
    NTLM?
    Kerberos?

Just Joined!
    Hi Glaston

Not sure what kind of authentication the server expects. My main pc runs windows Vista and I connect using remote desktop no problems

On my Linux pc I click on 'Connect to desktop' and then use an rdp connection to connect to the server

The server screen comes up fast, I can normally login if I switch to full screen and more often than not the login runs ok. A few seconds after that the window just disappears, no error message

Regards Andy

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Hi Somersham

Could you explain exactly what you are trying to do?
    You said you want to connect to the Server 2003 at work, with your Debian eeepc. I understand that you want to access your e-mail, My Documents, printers and any other folders you have on that server.