Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am relatively new to Linux. I have a Debian system running at home and just installed pure-ftp. I could do ftp on the same computer but I couldn't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ftp problem

Hello,

I am relatively new to Linux. I have a Debian system running at home and just installed pure-ftp. I could do ftp on the same computer but I couldn't do ftp from outside using the browser. Can someone guide me how to ?

I appreciate any help

thank you

Linux Newbie
    Your not giving up a lot of info here steve, but I'll see if I can help you.
    I could do ftp on the same computer but I couldn't do ftp from outside using the browser
    OK, I'm taking that to mean you could FTP into your own ip port (eth0 or lo, for instance) and establish an ftp session with your own machine. That's good, that means your client works. Why can't you connect to remote machines?
    First, are you doing this from your home or office? The difference is important since if your doing this on somebody elses network, he may have taken security precautions to block this behavior from your user group. A short conversation with you sys ad will resolve this problem in that case.The other first step I'd encourage you to take is post the error message you get when you try to ftp to external machines

Just Joined!
    Ditto dijetlo,

without an accurate error message it is impossible to determine a solution. Please post any error message you get.