Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello, I am an avid user of Debian and recently tried out the LXDE desktop environment - which to be fair, is very nice but still lacks a bit I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    478

    Keybinding on LXDE


    Hello,

    I am an avid user of Debian and recently tried out the LXDE desktop environment - which to be fair, is very nice but still lacks a bit I guess since it's new.

    I found no way of taking screenshots and downloaded gpe-screenshot from the stable repositories. How can I assign the "Print Screen" button to gpe-screenshot?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    LXDE uses the Openbox window manager. Here is a guide: Openbox guide urukrama’s weblog

    I'm not sure that LXDE is lacking so much as it strives to be a minimal desktop environment, and as such, will not be as full featured as a resource hog like KDE or GNOME.

  3. #3
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    478
    Thank you reed9!

    I will check the guide you posted. I know it's aimed at being minimal, but it is a bit buggy so far but fast. Just thought that it would have a printscreen app.

  4. #4
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    478
    Uhm... I can't find rc.xml and searched the net. All I could find is that lxde calls its file lxde-rc.xml but I do not know where on earth it is.... I even did a search on it locally and still can't find it

    EDIT: Found it under $HOME/.config/openbox

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    I've only used LXDE with Arch Linux; I guess I'm used to installing just the programs I want to begin with and I never noticed the lack of a built in screen capture app. I usually installed scrot to take care of that. I don't like the way pcmanfm won't let you remove the home icon from the desktop either, and never used it to draw the background, but went with nitrogen instead.

    The only real irritating bug I had with LXDE was lxpanel crashing when using a 64 bit system.

  6. #6
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    478
    I was going to install Arch Linux instead of Debian but I guess nobody cares if you have a ppp connection so I'm screwed because of that.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1

    arch ppp

    hello i know this is old but i have to say it : arch linux has always been instalable on ppp connection as well. just to know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •