Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, Im totally new to linux and wanted to give it ago, after realising I cannot buy a laptop with no o.s. on it and put my xp unatended on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

newcomer

Hi, Im totally new to linux and wanted to give it ago, after realising I cannot buy a laptop with no o.s. on it and put my xp unatended on it. I put windows 7 on my laptop, but its still pants really. Ok, I've only ever used xp. Newby uh?. For two weeks now, Im going round in circles trying to find some instructions for how it works. I downloaded varios live versions and none of them see the wireless, its as if its turned off. I only have wireless, so without it Im stuffed. Could anyone pls tell me where I look to learn about linux (Im messin with debian) I downloaded ndiswrapper after reading something about it could see the cards but god knows how it installs. I hate the capitalistic pigs that microsoft are and would love to learn, so can anyone pls advise me on where to go to learn? My laptop is an hp pavillion dv51118.es. Thank in a.v. for any clues.

Quote Originally Posted by rastro123 View Post
    I put windows 7 on my laptop, but its still pants really.
    I'm sorry, what? Windows 7 pants? What happens when they crash? Do you moon everyone?

Ok, I've only ever used xp. Newby uh?. For two weeks now, Im going round in circles trying to find some instructions for how it works. I downloaded varios live versions and none of them see the wireless, its as if its turned off.
    Do you know what kind of wireless chip your computer uses?

I only have wireless, so without it Im stuffed. Could anyone pls tell me where I look to learn about linux (Im messin with debian) I downloaded ndiswrapper after reading something about it could see the cards but god knows how it installs.